Motor Sports Association

Frank Williams

Currently: Team Principal of Williams F1 Team.

Career highlights: Winning nine Constructors’ Championships in association with Cosworth, Honda and Renault, along with seven Driver FIA F1 World Championship titles with Alan Jones (1980), Keke Rosberg (1982), Nelson Piquet (1987), Nigel Mansell (1992), Alain Prost (1993), Damon Hill (1996), Jacques Villeneuve (1997)

Frank Williams is one of world motor sport’s very highest-profile names, his team – one of the most successful in the past 30 years – having contested every F1 season since 1977. Indeed, 2008 has marked Sir Frank’s 600th GP as an entrant, which surpasses the record of the legendary Enzo Ferrari. During that time his team has secured 16 FIA Formula One World Championship titles. Nine of these titles have been won in the Constructors’ Championship in association with Cosworth, Honda and Renault.

Having left behind a career in sales with Campbell’s soup to pursue his passion of motor sport, he quickly established his talents lay in team management. In 1979, two years after the formation of Williams Grand Prix Engineering, the team celebrated its first victory and, in 1980, its first title with Australian driver Alan Jones. Five more drivers’ titles would follow with Keke Rosberg (’82), Nelson Piquet (’87), Nigel Mansell (’92), Damon Hill (’96) and Jacques Villeneuve (’97). From 1995-99, Williams also ran Renault’s British Touring Car Championship programme, winning that crown too in ’97 with driver Alain Menu. Williams is truly one of F1’s best-loved teams, largely because it continues to thrive as a semi-privateer ‘maverick’ outfit capable of taking on the might of the full-blown manufacturer squads.

His achievements earned a knighthood in the 1999 New Year’s Honours List to augment France’s highest decoration, the Legion d'Honneur. Corporately, WilliamsF1 has also been awarded two Queen’s Awards for Export Achievement, and is today recognised as one of the most enduring and successful brands in global sport.